About Us

About the District
The mission of De Soto School District is to ensure learning, growth, and success for all students in a safe environment.

De Soto School District encompasses approximately 100 square miles.  The district currently has one early childhood center, one preschool, two elementary schools (K-6), a junior high school (7-8), and a senior high school (9-12).  The total District enrollment is approximately 3,100 students.  The District offers a comprehensive academic curriculum which encompasses a wide range of extracurricular activities and special programs.

About the City
Incorporated in 1869, the City of De Soto is a city with a population of 6,375 and is located in the southeastern part of Missouri, approximately 45 miles south of St. Louis.  De Soto is in Jefferson County, which is one of the fastest growing counties in Missouri.

De Soto was part of the Louisiana Territory and was transferred from France to Spain and back to France again and in 1803 was sold to the United States.  During that same year, Isaac Van Metre came to the place that was later named De Soto and erected a cabin.  A marker now stands to commemorate the first log cabin built in De Soto.

De Soto School District Campuses

De Soto Early Childhood Center
Phone: (636) 586-1040
Fax: (636) 586-3320
Athena Elementary School
Phone: (636) 586-1020
Fax: (636) 586-1029
Vineland Elementary School
Phone: (636) 586-1010
Fax: (636) 586-1019
De Soto Jr. High School
Phone: (636) 586-1030
Fax: (636) 586-1039
De Soto Sr. High School
Phone: (636) 586-1085
Fax: (636) 586-1059

Recent News



  • Our Mission: To ensure learning, growth, and success for all students in a safe environment.
  • Requests for Bids/Proposals are available here